How to Have a Bad Day in 5 Easy Steps

We all have bad days. Here are 5 ways to make sure you do it right.

  1. Sit outside in the rain

Sometimes when things aren’t going your way you just need to pout. A good place to pout would be your front step outside in the rain. With the dogs. Take my word for it.

2. Tell your mom make your favorite cup of coffee

Mom’s are good at knowing when you’re having a bad day. My host mom asked if she could make “cafe con leche” for me. I LOVE cafe con leche. Its the only drink in the world better than pumpkin chai tea. And since we don’t have fall in Guatemala, cafe con leche tastes like home. Go get your mom, and let her make you hot chocolate or coffee or chai tea or whatever you like. She will love you for it.

3. Help your sister with homework

The evening of my very bad day, my host sister needed help with her English homework. When having a bad day, it is very important to be with people who accept you for who you are, like your siblings. My host sister loves me because I helped her get good grades. Be with people who don’t expect you to be perfect, but allow you help them.

4. Tell your best friend how you feel

I happen to have a fantastic roommate who waits up for me when I have a terrible day. It is a good idea to sit with your best friend and tell them what’s wrong. It is also very important to help your friend understand that it is not their fault you needed cafe con leche and cuddling. Let them understand that they are essential to the “bad day survival” techniques employed here. Note to self: Friends who wait up for you when you’re sad are worth keeping around

5. For goodness sake go to bed

Say a prayer, kiss somebody goodnight and give your bad day to God.

Go to bed.

Leave a Reply

